The annual Trees Bowl and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by the North Dakota Forest Service and North Dakota State University, will recognize North Dakota’s forty-eight Tree City USA communities, two Tree Campus USAs, and one Tree Line USA this year at the Fargodome on Saturday, September 23.

The Arbor Day Foundation, in partnership with the U.S. Forest Service and National Association of State Foresters, sponsors the Tree City, Tree Campus, and Tree Line USA programs.  Communities, campuses, and utility companies engaged in the programs show a commitment to the planting and care of trees that result in healthy, sustainable community forests, which improve the quality of life for everyone.  The North Dakota Forest Service administers the programs.

Sixty-four percent of North Dakota’s population lives in a Tree City USA community.  North Dakota’s largest Tree City is Fargo, and North Dakota has the smallest Tree City in the nation, Sibley with a population of 22.  Grand Forks and Mandan are the longest running with 41 years.  North Dakota State University (NDSU) was the first Tree Campus USA and United Tribes Technical College in Bismarck was the first tribal college.  Montana Dakota Utility is the only Tree Line USA in the state.

These leaders will be recognized at the Fargodome with a noon luncheon at 12 p.m. followed by an awards ceremony at 1 p.m.  NDSU President Dean Bresciani and State Forester Larry Kotchman will present each representative with a plaque and a tree print.  The award winners will also attend the Trees Bowl football game at 2:30 p.m. and be recognized on the floor during half-time.

The North Dakota Forest Service will distribute 3,000 Meyer and Black Hills spruce trees after the game.

The 2017 Tree City USAs include:  Arthur-7 years, Bismarck-40, Bottineau-29, Cando-28, Carrington-27, Casselton-17, Cavalier-20, Cavalier Air Station-20, Cooperstown-29, Devils Lake-37, Ellendale-24, Dickinson-24, Fargo-40, Forman-20, Grafton-29, Grand Forks-41, Grand Forks Air Force Base-24, Granville-24, Harvey-14, Hatton-12, Hazen-30, Jamestown-37, Lakota-7, LaMoure-32, Landgon-32, Lankin-21, Lincoln-11, Lisbon-28, Mandan-41, Mapleton-15, McClusky-2, McVille-20, Milnor-20, Minot-25, Mohall-3, New Rockford-25, Northwood-32, Oakes-10, Pekin-22, Rugby-14, Sibley-5, Towner-28, Valley City-29, Wahpeton-33, Washburn-9, Watford City-25, West Fargo-33, and Williston-36.

The 2017 Tree Campus USAs include:  North Dakota State University of Fargo and United Tribes Technical College of Bismarck.

The 2017 Tree Line USA is Montana Dakota Utilities.

Share this post