The community that meals together, heals together

Diners from Dunn County and beyond donated $395 to disaster recovery at the July 11 Hail Relief! Spaghetti Supper held at the High Plains Cultural Center in Killdeer.

presenting checkxx

On Friday, July 15, representatives from five of the six Dunn County organizations that sponsored the free, two-hour supper presented the donation check to the Killdeer Park District. The presentation was made at the Killdeer Aquatic Center’s Grand Opening.

“Thank you to everyone who donated,” said Killdeer Park Board President Shane Nordsven. “We had a lot of damage to slides and other installations at our parks. We will use these funds for equipment repair and replacement.”

Nordsven said that parks are an important part of the community’s well-being. This is especially true during times of crisis such as the aftermath of July 10’s devastating supercell hailstorm.

“Our parks provide a place for kids to play outside so they’re not always looking at a screen,” Nordsven said. “The green spaces also make this a nice place to live for all residents.”

One word of caution during storm cleanup: Proper footwear, close parental supervision and staying out of grassy areas is recommended due to debris and broken glass.

Over 175 hungry, hail-ravaged folks and families enjoyed spaghetti, green salad, fresh veggies, garlic bread, desserts and beverages at the Hail Relief! supper. The meal was sponsored and produced by volunteers from six Dunn County entities. Additional help came from HPCC staff, St. John’s Lutheran Church, individual Killdeer residents and Hinrich’s SuperValu.

Presenting the check to Nordsven are, from left to right: Dunn County NDSU Extension Family & Consumer Science Agent Janet Wanek, Nordsven, Killdeer Park Board members Loree Fettig and June Johnson (seated), Dunn County Historical Society & Museum board member Karen Boehm, Dunn County Social Services social worker Chantelle Kuntz, Dunn County Fair Association President Terrald Bang and Dunn County Writers Executive Director Jennifer Strange. Not pictured are Dunn County Commissioners Reinhard Hauck, Bob Kleeman, Daryl Dukart, Donna Scott and Craig Pelton.

Share this post