Cowboys Attend Nighthawk Classic

Last week was a busy week for the Killdeer Cowboys.

By Jarann Johnson

For the DC Herald

Early on during the week Killdeer battled Hettinger-Scranton in a dual then during the weekend Killdeer headed to the two-day Nighthawk Classic.

Killdeer lost the dual early in the week 60-24. All 24 points came off pins.

Derek Tabor (170), Dillan Jepson (182), Rope Smith (195) and Zane Pittsley (285) won their matches.

During the weekend Killdeer took 10th out of 16 teams at the Nighthawk Classic. Tabor, Jepson and Smith lead the way as the only tournament placers in the top three.

Tabor motored through the tournament without much trouble. Tabor only gave up one point during the whole tournament and claimed champion honors.

Tabor started off his dominant tournament with a 1 minute and 9 second pin over Tanyon Gray (Moorecroft). In the second round Tabor didn’t grab a pin but he was still impressive collecting a 15-0 tech fall over Trig Olson (Harding County).

In the third round Tabor faced off against a Region 4 foe but once again proved too tough, pinning Colby Mcgrath (New Salem- Almont) in 4:55. Tabor’s fourth round match was against the host team, Hettinger-Scranton’s starter at 170. The hometown favorite, Issac Anderson (Hettinger-Scranton), struggled to stop Tabor and was pinned in 1:06.

Tabor didn’t relent in his fifth tournament match and again collected a quick pin. Tabor pinned Braydon Schmidt (Linton-HMB) in 40 seconds to earn a berth in the semifinals.

Tabor’s semifinal match didn’t have an answer for Tabor either and was pinned. Tabor pinned Duell Tomac (Lemmon) in 3:07 to advance to the finals.

In the finals Tabor met up with Trig Olson (Harding County) in a rematch. Olson had extra motivation to avenge his early tournament loss but Olson’s motivation only turned into one point in a 7-1 loss.

Jepson also made it to the championship match and looked great early on. Jepson pinned his first three opponents in under 2 minutes. First Andrew Sulzman (Hettinger-Scranton) went down in 1:43 then Beau Jeffers (Bowman-Beach) in 1:54 and lastly Thomas Drane (Broadus) suffered a quick pin – only lasting 46 seconds.

Jepson’s pin streak came to an end against Garret Roemmich (Linton-HMB). Even though, Jepson didn’t get the pin he still got the win, 12-4, and headed for the tournament semifinals.

Jepson’s semifinal match went much like the rest of the tournament. Jepson collected a quick 1:28 pin over Shane Forester (New Salem-Almont) to advance to the finals.

The finals were a bit tougher for Jepson because he was facing a well known Region 4 wrestler. Jepson faced Kobe Murphy (Standing Rock).

Murphy won the high scoring match 15-9, giving Jepson’s almost perfect tournament a small smudge. Jepson ended the tournament with 2nd place honors.

The only other top three placer at the tournament was Smith. Smith took third at 195.

Even though, Smith finished with a high placing the tournament started roughly for him. Connor Dennis (Watford City) pinned Smith in 28 seconds in the opening round.

Smith recovered during the next two rounds with pins. Smith pinned Teagen Trusler (Broadus) in 4:56 and Jaydon Newlander (Harding Co.) in 46 seconds.

The final match was a tough draw for Smith where he found Region 4 rival Jacob Schalesky (Hettinger-Scranton) waiting. Schalesky won the match with 1:28 pin for second place honors.

Anthony Perez (113), Dylan Tabor (120) and Liam McFadden (220) also participated in the varsity tournament.

The Cowboys will be keeping busy again by attending Rugby’s two day weekend tournament and a Triangular in Bowman on Tuesday.

Killdeer 24 vs Hettinger- Scranton 60

106: Mason Defoe (HETT) over (KILL) (Fall 0:00)

113: Kyle Burwick (HETT) over Anthony Perez (KILL) (Fall 3:03)

120: Carlos Martinez (HETT) over Dylan Tabor (KILL) (Fall 1:37)

126: Cale Schalesky (HETT) over John Tomjac (KILL) (Fall 0:44)

132: Braden Kline (HETT) over Zach Andersen (KILL) (Fall 0:29)

138: Ben Dalley (HETT) over (KILL) (For.)

145: Alec Andress (HETT) over (KILL) (For.)

152: Logan Lachowitzer (HETT) over (KILL) (For.)

160: Ethan Anderson (HETT) over Stephen Westarp (KILL) (Fall 1:15)

170: Derek Tabor (KILL) over Issac Anderson (HETT) (Fall 0:57)

182: Dillan Jepson (KILL) over Andrew Sulzman (HETT) (Fall 1:19)

195: Rope Smith (KILL) over Paul Abrahamson (HETT) (Fall 2:39)

220: Colbey Steeke (HETT) over Liam McFadden (KILL) (Fall 1:44)

285: Zane Pittsley (KILL) over Sam Urwiller (HETT) (Fall 1:12)

Nighthawk tournament placers: Derek Tabor 1st (170), Dillan Jepson 2nd (182) and Rope Smith 3rd (195). 10th out 16 total teams – 101.5 points.

Share this post