Gov. Doug Burgum declares 3 counties severe storm disaster areas

Gov. Doug Burgum on Thursday, Aug. 17, signed an executive order declaring three western North Dakota counties a severe storm disaster area, according to a press released from Burgum’s office issued the same day. The release also said the the governor has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for more time to request a major disaster declaration.
The disaster area that Burgum outlined include Bowman, Dunn, and Slope counties.
This in response to the July 20 and 21 thunderstorms that swept the area. The storm brought downburst gusts with wind speeds up to 70 mph in some areas.
For the full story, pick up the Aug. 25 edition of the Dunn County Herald.

Share this post