Marathon team wins co-ed softball league title

Marathon softball teamxx

The Marathon Oil co-ed softball team is all smiles after winning the Century League tournament title on Wednesday. Pictured, back row from left, are: Bryan Gallegos, Lexie Hoemberg, Keaton Bergstrom, John Blackwell, Stephen Cantu, Sarah Renko, Bryson Goeres, Sarah Gelsinger, Bill Gelsinger, Andrew McClain. Pictured in front row, from left, are: Jamie Goeres, Jo Jo McElmury, Jess Baker, Duell Petsch, Kayla Petsch, Matt Moenkedick and Dave Hutton. Not pictured are Jeff Parker and Justin McBroom.

The Marathon Oil co-ed softball team won the Century League tournament in the Dickinson Parks and Rec adult summer softball program.

Marathon, which has a field office in Dunn Center, defeated The Punishers 10-6 in the championship game on Wednesday night at Gress Softball Complex in Dickinson. Marathon took control early thanks to a 4-run outburst in the third inning to take a 5-0 lead. The Punishers cut the gap to 5-3 in the fifth inning, but Marathon countered with another 4-run inning in the bottom of the fifth.

The Punishers defeated Superior Cleaners in an elimination game to make the final.

Marathon entered the tournament as the top seed after posting a 12-4 record during the regular season. En route to the title, Marathon defeated Superior Cleaners 13-5 in the first round and The Punishers 9-8 in the semifinals.

Share this post