Spring commencement ceremony set for May 13 at Dickinson State

Graduating class

Four Dunn County students will be among the graduates at the 97th spring commencement ceremony at Dickinson State University on Saturday, May 13 at Scott Gymnasium.

Megan Klein, Lane Oversen and Allison Steffan, all of Killdeer, and Skye Schaper of Halliday will be among the 197 graduates for the event that is slated to start at 10 a.m.

Dickinson State University students Jessica Schmeichel and Jalyn Klauzer are scheduled to  address the graduating class.

Dickinson State will award 161 baccalaureate degrees and 37 associate degrees at the spring commencement ceremony. Students will celebrate their graduation by walking across the platform to receive their diplomas from the university’s 12th president, Dr. Thomas Mitzel.

A total of 197 students are eligible to participate in the ceremony; this number includes all spring and summer 2017 graduates, as well as students who graduated last fall but did not participate in the December ceremony. Five students will also graduate with Theodore Roosevelt Honors Leadership Program distinction.

The graduates, faculty, staff, alumni and guests will also hear from Dr. Carmen Wilson, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs, and Kari Reichert, a representative of the State Board of Higher Education.

Share this post